Lots of Memories

If you are under 55, you simply won’t understand…

~ by yougottobekidding on January 24, 2014.

24 Responses to “Lots of Memories”

  1. god! I remember them all. Holy crap!

  2. Where the heck did you find these pictures? I must be old. I can remember most of them, heck, I have used most of them. Too bad that we move so fast nowadays. There is something to be said for being a bit more laid back.

    However, I will not give up my smartphone, laptop, fuel injected vehicle, graphite fly rods, etc.

    • Actually, most come from friends. Things just show up in my Inbox. I’ll discard the bulk of it as being, at best, only mildly interesting. The ones that bring a smile to my face or, in this case, recall childhood memories make the grade.

  3. Just love this one. Thanks

    Sent from my iPhone

  4. kristenesharp@Hotmail.com

    Sent from Windows Mail

  5. Thanks for the memories!! I remember each one of these things!!

  6. I had no idea how old I was, but yes, I remembered them all. Thanks for the walk through my childhood. The only one I missed was Barbie, Ken, Midge, and Allen.

  7. These photos were all very familiar to someone my age…..86…I think those were the days that people were happier and more content….today is too stressful for many……

  8. Happier days for most…less stressful ……today is like being on a never ending treadmill for many….at 86, I am well pass that and content with my life…..

  9. I remember all of them – good times to remember

  10. This brought back sooo many memories. I remember them all and even using my grandmother’s washing machine when I was just a kid. Thank you for this experience. Happier times!

    • We still have an old Maytag wringer washer sitting in our garage. Even more amazing, it still works. Don’t use it, of course, as newer washers and dryers are much less labor intensive. Still, I remember my Mom using one just like it when I was growing up. So much simpler back then…

  11. I’m not sure why you say if you’re under 55 you won’t get this. I’m 52 and remember nearly everything shown.

    • ‘Tis but a figure of speech, not an exact number. Those of us who grew up with all this will understand; younger readers will likely not have a clue and will not be able to relate.

      To provide just a little color, for any child 10 years or younger, the Internet has always been there as have computers. When I was growing up, I barely knew what a computer was. I distinctly remember getting my first computer at home, a 286-based system that ran at 8 MHz. I also remember upgrading my modem from 2400 to 9600 baud and thinking how zippy it was compared to that old thing I used to run on.

      It’s just all a matter of perspective…

  12. What are the wire things between Toni perm and jacks? Recognize the other things but not that one!!

  13. I liked those days. They were easier.

  14. Amazing…I don’t remember seeing any post that brought back geniune memories, and all true! Ann T.

  15. I remember seeing and using a lot of these items. Brings back lots of memories.

  16. The desks with inkwells. I think I used those right up until high school.

  17. I’m 69 and I knew everything but why the chicks were colored…they came out of dyed Easter eggs?

  18. Thanks for bringing back some real great memories. Wish those days had never ended. They say technology is such a great thing and i guess it is to an extent but boy I wonder how many people would give up all that technology to go back to the days when things were just a little simpler.

    • When I was young, I used to go out in the morning, hike and explore in the woods all day, throw rocks at hornets nest then run like h*ll when they came after us, eat lunch at whomever’s house was the closest at the time, then go out and hike and play some more. Dusk would fall and the parking lot next to the one grocery store would empty; they actually closed at 5pm so that space became free. They had it lighted which was just perfect for a whiffleball game that we would play until 8pm and sometimes to 10pm. It was oh so much fun.

      It’s odd in that nobody worried about us: no abductions, knifings, shootings, none of that stuff. The biggest “threat” was when we got out of line, the dad or the mom at whatever house we were at would give us a smack on the butt and bring us back in line. If we were really bad, we’d get the same when we got home. Our biggest “bad thing” was to go into the local bar, buy a 12 oz. Coke for 5 cents with a 2 cent deposit on the bottle, play the nickle pinball machines, then turn the bottle back in for the refund. It was a grand time to be a kid.

Leave a Reply

 
